Whole30 Day 8

4

December 12, 2012 by Max

The euphoria of having survived a week on Whole30 with no cheating (intentional, anyway, but I am not quibbling over accidental hot sauce on salad when I omitted the grains and dairy from it) has subsided – slightly – and I’m asking myself SO WHAT?

Well…I’ve eaten a whole ton of nutrients in lots of different types of meat and fish (salmon, tuna, beef, chicken, turkey, sausage), fruit and veg (persimmon, pineapple, dates, apple, avocado), and more veggies than I can list (but including mushrooms, butternut squash, sweet potato, spinach, leeks, celery, tomatoes, carrots, parsnips, peppers) and a lot of eggs and macadamia nuts.

I’ve found fruit is tasting sweeter (I’m pretty much at the point where I don’t mind eating fruit instead of a sugary chocolate bar or a dessert) and have discovered that cashew butter with apple slices is heavenly. I mean seriously, who knew?
The biggie for me is that I haven’t eaten chocolate or crisps or ready meals (or indeed ANY kind of sugar) for a whole 7 days. I used to eat all those things constantly, mostly INSTEAD of fresh fruit and veggies. Coming off the sugar hasn’t been easy, and preparing all my food with maximum efficiency and minimum stress is an art I am still mastering, but I’ve successfully weathered bad moods, headaches, cravings and nightmares.
I feel pretty great.
4 thoughts on “Whole30 Day 8

  1. I LOVE IT! Thank you so much for your daily updates. I just finished It Starts with Food also, and will be starting the Whole 30 challenge mid January. Everything that you are writing is stuff that I have been thinking about for when I start. Thank you so much, GREAT job so far on your challenge, and I can’t wait to read more!

  2. […] who have finished the challenge (Ann from Twelve in Twelve) or are in the middle of the challenge (Max from New to Paleo Diet). Jrod and I both have a HUGE sugar problem and bread can easily be my downfall some days, while […]

Leave a Reply

